• View the 2024 QuantNet ranking of the Best UK Quant MSc Programs.

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Georgetown MSF vs. UCLA MFE?

Based on my situation, should I choose Georgetown MSF or UCLA MFE?

• Georgetown MSF

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • UCLA MFE

Votes: 6 85.7%

• Total voters
Background: I majored in finance and computer science at an undergraduate school considered to be a "semi-to-non-target" within the financial industry. Due to depression and personal issues, my grades during my first two years of undergrad were abominable. However, I was able to get my act together and achieve mostly A's during my final 2 years of undergrad, but this was only enough to raise my final cumulative GPA to a lackluster ~3.3/4.0. My extracurriculars aren't impressive, consisting of one internship at a local business, one internship at a small IB/PE firm, one externship at a mid-sized VC firm, and a few entrepreneurial endeavors. I've applied to hundreds of financial firms, from MMs to BBs, and I keep getting rejected, most of the time without even getting an interview. Since graduating in December 2023, I have been unemployed for five months.