• View the 2024 QuantNet ranking of the Best UK Quant MSc Programs.

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Advice for Older Software Developer

Hello QuantNet Forum,

I'm hopeful someone here can give me some good advice. I'm in my early fifties and recently ended a role that was unsatisfying, so I am considering a career change that makes better use of my interests and skills. I am a Software Engineer by profession, with a couple of decades of experience in the full stack .NET space for a wide variety of industries. I hold two BS degrees, in Computer Science and Physics, with excellent grades from an average school. My math and physics skills have been underutilized in a professional context. I've worked on some interesting academic projects, including a Lattice-Boltzmann Method CFD using CUDA and C++, and I have a strong interest in GPU programming techniques. I'm interested in financial engineering internship or associate roles, and I wonder if it makes sense to even consider this an option. If not, well, I am just really curious about the field in general and want to learn more about it for my own projects.

Any feedback is most appreciated!

Last edited:
I would strongly suggest taking the Python course on QuantNet and using that as a stepping stone into the field. It will provide you with an essential language to explore financial data, data science, and what is being done by developers in the industry.