• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Advice for MFE Program

Hi everyone!

I'm a final-year undergraduate student pursuing a dual degree in Electrical Engineering and Data Science at IIT Madras (India), a tier 1 university in India. I am interested to pursue MFE and would like to have some insights on how to strengthen my profile. My GPA is 9.2/10 (around 3.79/4).

My Coursework includes various levels of undergrad and advanced graduate courses on Probability, Linear Algebra and Statistics.

At the time of applying, I'll have one year of Experience as quant analyst in a Tier 1 IB.

I'm planning to take the GRE in Sept/Oct (under the new shorter scheme).
(Dream programs are Baruch, MIT, Princeton, UCB, CMU)

I'd like to seek some advice about these:
  1. How much value does CFA L1/L2 exam add to an MFE application? Is it worth pursuing to boost my profile?
  2. Are there any specific skills or knowledge areas that appear weak on my profile for the MFE admissions committees that I should focus on developing?
I would greatly appreciate any advice, suggestions, or personal experiences you can share. Thank you in advance for your time and support!

Looking forward to hearing your insights and recommendations.

Thanks

I'd start with pointing exactly where you want to end up after the MFE, then reverse-back engineer which program to apply to. Each of these programs are going to have different strengths and profiles they cater to!