• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Changing careers, where to start?

Hey all,

I'm a 32 year-old with a BA in Music. I've been a musician for a while now, but it doesn't pay the bills, so I've been looking into other options. Math has always come easy to me (got perfect 800s on the SAT and GRE math without really studying), I'm a winning amateur poker player, and I like the competitive risk/reward nature of finance and trading. My weakest point is that I tend to be a bit of a luftmensch - someone who's head floats more easily into abstract idea than practical, real-world knowledge (I'm actually lousy with music software programs because I find learning them so tedious and boring). I also love economics, but don't want to and can't afford to be in academia until I'm 40.

So, I'm trying to find the best direction to go in from here. The more I read, the more I'm being convinced that spending a decade on a PhD is not the way to go. The masters in Mathematical Finance has a lot of appeal, but I'm almost certain I'm going to need to get work experience/take some preliminary classes before I have a shot at getting in anywhere decent.

Any suggestions/links would be highly appreciated.