• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Do native speakers need to memorize vocabularies for GRE?

I started studying in Canada 9 years ago since grade 10, and I never feel I have any kind of English problem after the first 2 or 3 years. However when I read GRE verbal parts I feel I am basically illiterate. I've tried memorizing vocabulary books but it was so boring that I couldn't even sit there for more than 1 hour, and almost nothing was coming into my skull...I know that GRE takers in China usually need to spend 1 or 2 month full time memorizing vocabulary books (or spending like 1-2 hours each day for a couple of years), and erase them from the brain after the test. This kind of processes would kill me...I now ended up doing OR in UofT and I'm not thinking of GRE anymore, but I'm just wondering how native speakers prepare for GRE Verbal? Do you guys also need to sit there hours and hours to memorize? Just curious...