• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Entry into Finance - With an Engineering Ph.D

I am a Researcher working in the field of Computational modeling in academia. I have a Ph.D in Engineering. 36 yrs old with family.

Recently, I have become highly fascinated with financial markets and I am purely attracted to Asset management/Equit research part of the finance and value investing. I am planning to take some online finance courses first, but now feel that CFA would be best for the knowledge.

I am wondering about the best paths to break into finance. My long term goal is to continue invest my own money and If I am successful or any better, then to manage others money in future.

While, I am truly passionate about finance and investing, I am trying to understand if this means making a career switch, or just continuing in my current field with investing as a passion and hobby.I have the follow dilemmas in front of me and I will greatly appreciate any comments and advice.

1) To keep working in my current field as a Researcher/Faculty in industry/academia, which would give me a steady stream of income, stability, flexibility, and security and continue my learning through CFA exams (I, II, and III), and mainly investing my own money to develop a track record. (not much passion in current field. more in love with finance).