• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

How can I improve my profile for a MFE/PHD in Fin. Math?

Hello,

I left the labor force a year and a half ago as I was facing depression. I worked as a Market Analyst for a pharmaceutical branding company for 2 months before being let go as I wasn't a "good fit". Before that I worked as a Marketing Analyst for a rather large Insurance broker quoting High Net Worth PnC accounts and handling said accounts for 2 years.

I am a Hispanic- Male, 3.66 GPA. I got my Bachelors of Science in Economics from a State School. These were my grades:

Relevant Math/Stat/CS:
Calc 1: A-
Calc 2: A
Calc 3: C+
Linear Algebra: A-
Discrete Math 1: B+
Calculus-Based Probability: B+
Time Series Analysis: B
Design of Experiments/ Analysis of Variance: A-
Programming 1 (C++): A

Relevant Econ Classes:
Intermediate Micro: A
Intermediate Macro: A
Econometrics: A
Analysis of Economic Data: B+
Financial Markets and Monetary Policy: A
Game Theory: B+
Business Organization and Market Structure: A-

Relevant Insurance:
Risk Management and Insurance: C ( ouch, I took my lest semester and got lazy)

I have decided to go back to school this spring and take:
Programming 2 (C++)
Computer Organization 1 ( needed for Data Structures class in summer)
Discrete Math 2
Numerical Analysis

And this in the Summer:
Data Structures and Algorithms 1
Computer Organization 2
Diff Eqs.
Study for and take the GRE