• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is an MFE degree worth it?

I am going to be teaching high school math in Oklahoma. I graduated from OU in December with close to a 4.0 in math. I have basically zero programming experience, and have not had any luck finding employment outside of teaching. Let's say I put my mind to good use and learn as much C++ as possible over the next two years. Then, say I get into an MFE program (probably can't get into a good one, so let's just say some mid level school). Is getting an MFE really worth it? I do research on this, and it seems that all of the people with these degrees work in NYC making 80K-120K a year. In NYC, that doesn't get you anywhere. The people who are making big bank on Wall Street are those with PHDs in a quant field. It sounds like extremely difficult work for no financial reward. Instead, I could go back to school to study petroleum engineering and make make 80K to start, 120K after a few years of experience and live some place much cheaper. I just don't understand why I hear all this talk about quant finance being some big paying job. Basically, most people with MFEs are broke monkeys doing programming for the rich.

I do research on this, and it seems that all of the people with these degrees work in NYC making 80K-120K a year. In NYC, that doesn't get you anywhere.