• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is Quant a good choice for me?

Hey guys I think I need some advice.

I am a senior student at a Top 20 University and is going into a top-tier MFE program. I'm both a statistician and an economists so basically I'm not a pure Tech guy. I have a lot of experience in economics, as well as programming, time series, simulation, and other advanced quantitative skills. At first I wanted to become a Quant (that's why I go for the MFEs), but recently I got a summer internship offer (just for 10 weeks in the summer, no Full Time roles. It's great since I can go to my graduate program afterwards) from a Macro Global and Fixed Income relative value hedge fund with really good track record and decent pay. I kinda start to think about the future route of a Quant since from my research the Quant route doesn't lead you to the Portfolio Manager role directly (kinda 'far from money'?). If my goal is really to have my own investment philosophy and to become a Portfolio Manager in the future, is a Quant (eg. Goldman Sachs Strats team) really a good choice for me? I really don't care about the compensation difference at the entry-level.