• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Major question

Hello everyone,
I'm pretty new to this forum and over the past two years I've developed an interest in Financial Engineering as I enjoy Mathematics and the equity markets (in particular derivatives). I'm currently a sophomore in college and curious to what degree I should try to obtain in college for an Undergraduate that best fits financial engineering. I'm a Finance Major for now and thinking perhaps of switching to Applied Math or even double majoring. Do you guys think I should continue in just finance, switch to Applied Math, or double major?

Thanks in advance to all replies.

"I 8 Sum Pi" and it was delicious! Very clever.

There are a number of people on QuantNet who can probably give answers informed by more experience. My answer would be that the best degree would be a computer science degree with an applied math minor. Then get a masters degree quantitative finance.

I am a software engineer (in the University of Washington Computational Finance and Risk Management Master's program), so I have my biases. But from what I've been seeing, you need to be able to write software, either in C++, R, MatLab or something similar. The more software experience you have the better. Of course you should also have the applied math, especially statistics, background and the finance background. Which doesn't make this an easy field.