• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Prep / Pre-sessional course for Oxford MScMCF for a CS person

Hello -

I'm a pure Computer Scientist based in UK working for one of the top IBs. Would like to try and get in to the Oxford MScMCF but frankly my maths are not up to par of what they are expecting. Is there a course to catch up to that level? or any other way to do it (apart from the obvious - try and learn on my own for a year or so before applying)?

Regards

Would like to try and get in to the Oxford MScMCF but frankly my maths are not up to par of what they are expecting.

Get a fair number of such posts on this forum. First question is that if your math isn't that great, why do you want to do the MScMCF in the first place? Clearly your interests and aptitudes lie elsewhere. Is it merely mercenary motives?

Is there a course to catch up to that level?

No single course. And doing math involves a way of thinking and being different to being a programmer. Not saying it can't be done but merely that it will be an uphill effort, particularly as your interests and aptitudes probably lie elsewhere.

Hello -