• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Preparing for MFE?

Hi, I'm a freshman at Michigan State University particularly interested in financial engineering, however, I want a PhD in econ to stay open as a possibility as well. I just finished up my first semester and would like to start figuring out what it's going to take to get into selective programs - Princeton, Columbia, and Stanford are my top choices.

I plan on double majoring, but I'm not sure which fields I should pursue. Right now I'm a mathematics and economics major, but I'm not sure if it would be better to incorporate computer science or finance.

Furthermore, I'm unsure how I should be spending summers. I'm applying for an internship at the SEC this summer, or I could work possibly work at a boutique investment bank - Alllen & Company (Family members are directors). What exactly would be pertinent for these top programs? Would research be the best bet?