• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Quant Finance Software

Hi,

I am a senior manager in a telecommunications company working in the area of real-time embedded software which is a scalable and yet high performing software development product. Recently, I have been following the Quant Software industry and would like to move there.

I am very proficient in C++ and have 20 years of development experience in telecom area.

I was also a good student in Math and hence understand the trigonometric, differential and integral calculus, if the job requires me to work on.

Will that suffice to take an interview in Quant Finance Software development ?

well, basic maths won't get a quant wannabe anywhere.

first, get certified. through mfe courses or the like to grab the interest of recruiters.

then, practice maths for financial applications. show them to your recruiter. this requires stochastic calculus like brownian motion, black-scholes models, arch and garch, binomial options pricing, just to name a few.

since you want to do quant finance software development, which asset classes are you looking forward to work with?

well, basic maths won't get a quant wannabe anywhere.

first, get certified. through mfe courses or the like to grab the interest of recruiters.