• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Returning to previous employer: How it affects placement?

Greetings,

I work in the public sector of a Latin American country. Let's say that my employer will be paying for my education. In return, I would have to sign a contract that stipulates that I will have to return and work for twice the amount of time I spend studying abroad. It is not my intention to hide this or evade it. I am explicitly expressing it in my applications.

In this case, I am guaranteed to "place"...but at what cost?
The salary that I will have once I return will likely be between 65K-80K. Purchasing power, Cost of Living and Standards of Living are nowhere near the level of living and working in the USA. I can't begin to name reasons why these aren't comparable.

Would this essentially hurt the placement stats of a program should I be admitted?
Is this something that would play a role when deciding whether to admit one person or not? Do selection committees/panels have this in mind?
Is there any positive one can take from this situation?

I am sure I am not the only applicant with these concerns, so I apologize if this has been answered before. I searched the forums and couldn't find answers.

Would this essentially hurt the placement stats of a program should I be admitted?
Is this something that would play a role when deciding whether to admit one person or not? Do selection committees/panels have this in mind?