• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE UMich QFRM VS Columbia MSOR

UMich QFRM VS Columbia MSOR?

• Total voters

wbx

Hello,

I am an international student who recently got admission offers from UMich Ann Arbor QFRM and Columbia MSOR. Can you guys give me some advices on choosing which schools? It's really hard for me to decide.:(

It seems to me that UMich QFRM has a small class size of 20-25 this year, and their curriculums possesses high quality and good targets on the fields. I was told that their internship placement rate after first academic year was 80% for international students admitted in Fall 2015. I also heard the Ross Business school can attract many employers to UMich, but I don't know how much that can help on the job replacement of FE.
I am also wondering about the program's connection with employers in US. Besides, I heard there was a MFE program before at UMich, and it was closed because of the low job replacement rates. Is that true?

For Columbia, the class size is very big, over 100. Moreover, I heard that some important FE courses are for FE students only, but I am not sure whether that is true. Besides, the Columbia tuition is a little bit too expensive for me. However, maybe the MSOR's job replacement is much more higher than UMich?