• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

usefulness of C++ cert if I end up not doing MFE

vxg

hi guys, I am considering to take this C++ certificate with a view to eventually get into an MFE program. My background is pure finance with negligible programming skills. I am just thinking now what will be the usefulness of this cert should I decide in the end not to pursue MFE or if I can't get into a good MFE program.

Is the program only useful as a precursor to MFE ? or is it a good certificate to have on its own ? Will I be able to apply c++ in non-finance setting after taking the program as well ?

thank you

If you have a generally strong application, I can't imagine why anyone would care about some programming credential. I would think writing in your cover letter about some interesting, challenging C++ project you did on your own would be just as good, but perhaps I'm overestimating admissions committees at MFE programs.