• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

CMU MSCF 2012 first round/ second round?

I'm currently a undergrad senior studying at ohio state university, math and finance double major, with minor in statistics.I have strong interest in applying to CMU pittsburgh this coming fall, but I'm puzzled by my profile right now, because I got a low GPA, 3.47, which is below the average of admitted students this year. But I have a good GPA from math classes and high level finance classes, major force that dragged my GPA down was business core classes, such as intermediate accounting, marketing and some other general education curriculum courses.
I'm deciding on when to complete the application, by Nov. 1 or Jan.3? For Nov.1, I think usually first round stands for higher chances.However the reasons that are tempting me to postpone the completion to January are:I registered for GRE math subject test in October(primarily for UChicago application), I believe that results will be out in November, and I should be able to get around 85%(already had general test scores, V710/Q780) Also, due to the school system difference, i will start new classes in September and finish them in December, some classes are important such as C++(had java before), real analysis, SAS software. Hopefully good grades from these classes will also boost my chances. In addition to above profile, I just passed the June CFA I exam.