• View the 2024 QuantNet ranking of the Best UK Quant MSc Programs.

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

A quant job: the easiest job that pays $100,000 out of college?

Hello QuantNetwork,

For the past month, I have been interning at a small-size (under a billion) hedge fund in Hong Kong. It's mostly front end office work - doing calculations and automating orders once live prices come in. Indeed I am an intern. Nonetheless, I have been observing my fellow colleagues in particularly this one guy (ex-JPM) in charge of three strategies trading in local stocks.

To be clear, he's a quant purely in charge of algorithmic trading. He doesn't trade live and he doesn't meet clients. And seeing what he does, I sometimes feel that quants may have the most stress free and high paying job in the world. At times I do get a sense of injustice that we are paid that much. He comes to office, have a chat of some trading strategy, call up some of the network guys to check the internet connection, do some programming on NetBeans and then leave. I tell myself, THIS IS THE BEST JOB IN THE WORLD. Am I blinded by what reality really is?