• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Actuary Investment Track + CERA, Trying to Break in to MFE

Hey Guys,

I'm hoping you guys might be able to help me out.

I did a bachelors in Actuarial Science & Statistics in Scotland (where, in contrast to the US system where you must branch out, I did 28 courses in varying depths of mathematics & statistics finishing with masters level courses in Adv derivative pricing and stochastic calculus).

I then spent a year working on solvency II modelling in europe (VAR, and CTE/Economic Capital Calcs).

After that I moved to the us, and while working for a US medical insurer I passed the investment track exams and obtained the CERA acredittation.

So in terms of academics, I have formal background in derviatives pricing using monte carlo simulation, portfolio risk measurement, extreme value theory and all the lovely mathematics that underpin modern finance.

In terms of practical skillsets I am (self taught) but have used C++ in applied work setting, built stochastic pricing models in matlab and all of the other trimmings.

I had thought that my Investment FSA and CERA would give me the golden ticket into a quant research job (I know the maths and application already, afterall). But time and time again i'm getting screened out at the HR level for quant job interviews because I dont have a masters or PhD; do I really have to have one?