• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Advice on career direction

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to ask for your opinion on my situation. I am currently a quant developer at a major trading house, working on some pretty interesting projects that give me a fair bit of intellectual satisfaction.

However, an opportunity has opened up for me to transition into a role at a algo based interdelaer broker firm that is a result of a fairly significant player in the corporate bonds market, entering the local market. My responsibilities would include adapting the trading system for the local markets as well as trading. From what I understand the trading bit is really coming down to sanity checking ideas that have been generated by the algos and executing them. It has been marketed to me as an incredible opportunity to be a part of something from the ground up. And ... well we all know the benefits of that.

Most important thing for me at that point of my career is experience andlearning. So having said that, I would be very interested to hear people's opinions on this. Bear in mind that I am in my early twenties, do not have family and as such it is not so dangerous for me to take a career risk.

However what I am a bit afraid of is any of the two scenarios.
1 - I end up as the IT guy, just running around and setting up servers (I will be the fourth employe in the office).