• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Application Preparation Advice

Hi,

*Skip to the next part if you don't like reading lengthily words for nothing beneficial* I am an Vietnamese student in Electrical Engineering Program at University of Arkansas and will graduate next May. I haven't gotten a formal job offer yet, but my boss told me I can go back to the chemical company where I worked during my co-op with an OPT program. However, after 1 year internship in the company, I didn't really feel like doing what I had been doing, and started looking elsewhere I can use my love for math and bring me back to Asia without getting paid like $400/month. So I found Baruch MFE program which can fit both: heavily use of math (hopefully) and from the website it seems they have a strong connection in HK. I guess I will utilize my 29 months OPT to save up money for the tuition/living cost, plus 9 more months in school, so I have roughly 3 years to prepare for the application.

To make thing short, here are what I have now, can you give me some advice on how to improve myself for the application:
-GPA: 3.8x (don't know yet, but I should have A's this year), major in Electrical Engineering focus on Signal Processing and Control System.
-Calculus I till III, Linear Algebra, DiffEq, Probability & Stochastic (this was taken as an Processing class for engineering program, kind of slack off at the end, but I can go back and read the book)