• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Can you get into a top MFE program with a high GMAT and not-so-great GPA?

Hi all,

I'm currently an undergrad Computer Science and Finance double major at a well-known, but very average state school in the US. Heading into my senior year I'll have a 3.5 GPA. I don't have my GMAT results, but I did score a 169 on the GRE and a 2360 on the SATs so I'm hoping I'll manage to make it into the mid/upper 700s with a lot of hard work and perseverance.

My question is, for the top pre-experience MFE programs (especially ones in Europe, because I want to go there for my master's), what kind of GMAT score should I be aiming for to have a reasonable shot at being admitted? Heck, is there even a chance for me to get into the cream of the crop schools, even if I score a 790 or something? Most people on the Quantnet tracker applying to the programs I'm looking at seem to have at least a 3.7.

I would love someone to give some real perspective on this without too much sugarcoating. Thanks!

Last edited:
Not that it really matters or is relevant to your question, but why don't you mention what allegedly "average" yet "very well known" state school you're referring to?