• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Chance of getting into a top program?

I graduated from a top-15 school this past spring, with a 3.7 in Applied Mathematics and Economics, I recently took the GRE and scored a 334 (170Q 164V), and I'm working at a quantitative derivatives trading firm in Chicago for at least the next year.

I know my GRE score is strong, but do I have a good chance of getting into Columbia, CMU, UCB, etc. with my GPA? I know a 3.7 isn't bad by any means, but I know these programs have incredibly high standards and I'm sure it's below average.

Thanks in advance for any advice or opinions!

Your GPA and GRE and trading firm experience makes you a shoo-in into any program you want as long as you don't screw up the UCB interview and have decent recommendations. What are you doing for the quant trading firm? If you're front-office, perhaps just stay there and try for Chicago part-time if you're really keen on the degree or the learning.

Your GPA and GRE and trading firm experience makes you a shoo-in into any program you want as long as you don't screw up the UCB interview and have decent recommendations. What are you doing for the quant trading firm? If you're front-office, perhaps just stay there and try for Chicago part-time if you're really keen on the degree or the learning.