• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Frist Entry-Level Position for a Self-Taught Quant?

Background & Stats:
Name: Peter
Demographics: 21 yr old, Male
Education: Finishing BS in Biochemistry in the next 6-8 months
Current Occupation: Medical Assistant

The Situation:

Hey there guys! My name is Peter and, at such a late stage of my college career, I have decided that "Hey, I don't really want to go to medical school are do anything medically related". I've spent a while preparing for a career in medicine but have decided that I have little interest and no passion for it. I find mathematics the most interesting field above all; and I find the idea of building something real and useful to other people exciting and the prospect of dealing with fast-paced, dynamic, and complex systems (such as the financial markets) titillating. For these reasons, I have set my sights on becoming a quantitative developer (or more vaguely a "Quant" since the term itself has become so ubiquitous and arbitrary).

Since I'm already finishing up my graduate degree, I believe I have mooched off my parents long enough; and so, continuing my education into a field more fit for a quant is out of the question (at least for now). I have just recently started teaching myself how to program/code in the past month or so and am close to finishing up my review of single variable calculus which seems to already have slipped out of my mind in just a few semesters.