• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Implied Vol smile roll with spot

Hi,

I am new to the quant world and as such do not have too much experience in modelling. Would appreciate any help that I may get from you guys.

I have created the implied vol surface using eq 14 approximation mentioned in fabio paper "consistent pricing of FX options". Now i wanna implement rolling of this smile with spot. I understand sticky delta rule but thats a very rough cut approximation for the smile roll. I am looking for smthing more robust than that, but haven't been able to come across any litt. on how to roll this vanna-volga smile surface with spot. Any ideas please?

Thanks very much.

Like i said earlier, i have implemented the fabio paper eq 14 approximation for creating a vol surface. Although that fails at certain extremely low delta puts for ccycpls with extreme skew. So need to implement it via eq 12 to get a more robust implementation.

Now i am trying to implement Malz paper for the same to be able to compare the two results. However I am facing difficulty in strike inversion given a delta and vol associated with it (calc using the malz formla).

This is my two bit code for getting strike given delta and vol. (in vba)

x = delta / 100 * Exp(Rf(j) * T(j))

y = -Application.NormSInv(x)

GetExactStrikeForDelta = spot * Exp(Rd(j) * T(j)) * Exp(y * vol * (T(j) ^ 0.5) + (Rd(j) - Rf(j) + 0.5 * vol * vol) * T(j))