• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

MSF/MFE

Hi Guys,

I've been reading around this forum for a few weeks, since I've been undergoing some career changes the last couple months. I was wondering anyone could give me some input on what they think in terms of target schools and good programs for me to apply to? I'm currently studying for GMAT and plan to take it in February.

Here's my stats.
GMAT: trying to get 650-700.
GPA: 3.213, trying to move to 3.3-3.4 in 3 semesters
Degrees: Indiana University, Bloomington. B.A. Mathematics & Economics, B.M. Violin Performance, Class of 2014.
I don't know if this makes any difference, but I'm also a female/Asian. I noticed class profiles were around 20-30% women.

I plan on working in risk management rather than S&T, or I-banking, I was wondering what target schools I should go for? I'm unsure of the difference between MFE and MSF, which would be more useful? I can't find any rankings for MSF (or official published ones). I'm trying to go straight into MSF/MFE out of undergrad, and from my understanding risk management/insurance firms are centered around Chicago quite a lot.

Any input would be extremely helpful, please let me know! I've been really confused.

Ruey