• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Profile evaluation

FedericoM

Fred
Hi everyone!
Being a 2nd year undergrad, I'm going to apply for a MSc with a strong focus on Quantitative Finance in October. Therefore, I'd like to ask you 2 questions:

1) Could you please rank these EU MSc, according to your knowledge and experience?
  1. Imperial College: MSc Risk Mgmt and Financial Engineering / MSc Finance;
  2. Warwick: MSc Finance;
  3. London School of Economics: MSc Finance / MSc Financial Mathematics;
  4. Bocconi: Msc Finance.
2) Here is my profile:
  • 2nd year BSc Mathematical Engineering (1st ranked university in Italy), GPA=3.79/4;
  • Expected finale grade: 108-110 / 100;
  • 3 internships in non-financial companies (one in Germany, one in Holland and one in Italy);
  • many volunteer activities.
Thank you very much for any advice

You are a 2nd year undergrad and want to apply for a masters program?

I don't think that is possible unless you somehow managed to finish your degree in 2 years.

I confirm it's possible. Actually, a lot of students apply to a MSc right after undergraduate.
I will finish my degree in June 2013, so I'm going to start my MSc in Semptember 2013. Therefore, I have to make an application in the period October-December 2012

Still waiting for different opinions on this forum! ;)

I know how to program in C ("medium proficiency", I could say ) and I can use MATLAB, SQL and R quite well.