• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Starting Crude Oil and Coal Technical Analysis

Hi everyone.

I'm an electricity trader, and am responsible for five (5) 10MW diesel engines. My engines run on HFO, LFO, and Bunker fuel.

I would like to start "monitoring" the prices of crude oil in the global markets. Now, I only know a few fundamental indicators in reading and projecting crude prices, (i.e. cushing hub prices, US national reserves, European diesel demand) but since i don't have formal training in this, I'm just guessing like an amateur most of the time.

Is there an art to this? Is there a Technical Analysis method that I can use for Oil prices? My background is in physics and nuclear power, but I'm very much a newbie in the methods used in financial markets.

Please give me leads?

Can anyone comment on the huge difference between the crude oil price at Cushing and North sea i.e., WTI and Brent. Wti is priced 12$ cheaper than brent ... I am surprised as Wti is a better type of crude.

Technically WTI should be priced higher than brent since WTI is lighter and sweeter and has a lower sulfur content than Brent.