• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

The basics of ARCH / GARCH

Hi,

I am looking to introduce some volatility filters into my MACD trading strategy and have encountered ARCH and GARCH. As a relative newbie I would like to find a layman's explanation of what these are and learn more about exactly how these can be used.

I have searched the internet and read the wikipedia pages etc. but somehow these don't give a real understanding of how these techniques can be used in practice. If anyone knows of any examples that are accompanied by an explanation or something similar then that would be absolutely ideal.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Taylrl

What do you meany by 'in practice'? What problem do you want to solve?

Well I currently have a MACD model set up and running and am quite interested in applying some volatility filters. I have encountered ARCH and various forms of GARCH in literature online but would just like some guidance on how I could actually incorporate one of these models into a MACD strategy. A lot of the explanations I can find are very academic and theoretical and what I would like is some kind of step by step approach to how I can implement one of these models and the impact it can have upon my strategy.

Failing that, some assistance in understanding these models from a theoretical perspective would be great.

Thanks for the link to the code.