• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Trouble getting interviews

Hey all,

I'm currently a PhD student who's been trying to break into the quant space but having trouble. I literally don't get any interviews. I've applied to a lot of positions for around 2 months but haven't got any response.

I have quite a lot of development experience in C++ and quite a bit of python/Matlab too. I've done a fair bit of Machine Learning and am conversant with time series analysis too.

Would anyone be willing to look at my CV and tell me what I could be doing wrong? I'm beginning to suspect it's because I'm not from a top university. I'm looking for jobs in London.

I'm not from a finance background but I've exhausted my list of connections within the finance industry. Currently I'm down to applying on job boards.

Do you have any suggestions about how I could approach this? Possibly randomly attending Quant meetups in London?

I'm not from a finance background but I've exhausted my list of connections within the finance industry. Currently I'm down to applying on job boards.

Do you have any suggestions about how I could approach this? Possibly randomly attending Quant meetups in London?
Expand your list of connections.

Taylor your resume to the job you are applying.

Read the posts by this dude. It's fascinating:

https://www.quantnet.com/search/2883257/

Thanks Andy and pingu. That had some useful information.