• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

What can I do if I do not have sufficient math background?

Hi guys,

I am a final-year student in business degree with concentration in finance. I really want to go for financial engineering as my master degree. I do know that I do not have sufficient math background. However, I still want to do master in financial engineering because I have studied a lot of finance and I know what financial engineering is about. I like this field.

A bit about my background.
I have taken one semester of Calculus (include multivariate differential calculus but just a one-variable integral calculus. No differential equation.)
I have taken one semester of statistics (I believe it covers pretty much basic stuff for financial engineering but as I say.... just basic)
I plan to take econometrics as well.
I will also have a finance course, which will provide me exposure to matlab.
That is all I have.

Please help suggest me what can I do to strength my background.
Thank you.

Thank you for the reply.
There are problems, which I believe you do not want to know, that make me not possible to take more math classes. So you may assume that I have already graduated. There is only one option that I can think of now is to take pre-master course, but I still have no idea where I can(should) take it. Any suggestions about pre-master or more options would be really appreciated.