• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

What's the math of quants?

CSM

Hi. I'm a math student, but I don't want to become a quant (in fact I don't even know what a quant is, even after reading some introductions). Now my question is: what is the math that a quant encounters? Could you elaborate on the subjects you have to master and wich you think is the hardest?

Thanks in advance.

Hi.

in fact I don't even know what a quant is
http://www.markjoshi.com/downloads/advice.pdf

Hope this gives the exhaustive information about quants. After reading this article you'll have a solid understanding of a quant responsibilities and what they do. In short, I'd add that the mathematics of all kind is used for a quant job. Statistics and Stochastic calculus. Stochastic math is the hardest I think. But that's not enough to become a quant. You also need to know a programming skills.

Stochastic math is the hardest I think. But that's not enough to become a quant. You also need to know a programming skills.

I wonder how many quants really have an in-depth knowledge of stochastic, and whether it's really critical to quant success. Programming skill and experience, on the other hand, is indispensable.

I wonder how many quants really have an in-depth knowledge of stochastic, and whether it's really critical to quant success.